I Need a Job so I want to be an Alcohol and Drug Counselor – Not a Paperback Writer


My title is my homage to the Beatles and also reflects the silliness of my day so far.  But seriously, as I’m working toward getting my degree, at some point, I am going to have to have a job to pay for all of this schooling.  Since I want to go into social work, I thought starting out as a drug and alcohol counselor would be a great way of getting my foot in the door.  Cypress College apparently had the certification program, but I cannot take that there unless I want to mess up my financial aid.  So I have been searching for other ways to get the required classes for certification.  I started out with CAADE (California Association for Alcohol/Drug Educators), as they are one of the biggest in California and are also approved by the DHHS (Department of Health and Human Services).  This is their website: 

http://www.caade.org 

While looking around for information, I was led to another site that enables you to take unlimited  continuing education courses for one year for $74.99.  Their website is:  ce4less.com  

Now all I have to do is find an online course that will give me the necessary hours/training to become and A/D counselor.  It’s a process, but it’s a process, I’m definitely going to take.  Anything worth having is worth fighting for.  

8 thoughts on “I Need a Job so I want to be an Alcohol and Drug Counselor – Not a Paperback Writer

  1. hey girl! good job on posting! have you looked at pell grants?! especially great for women! also, try googling things like education loans for women….most don’t make you pay back until you done with school and give you a better rate for good grades! good luck!! ;-)

  2. brtw, love the music reference! lol!

  3. Suzanne says:

    It’s a good thing I talked to you before I read your latest blog or I wouldn’t know that you were referring to a “Beatles” song. Never heard of it. So glad you are committed to working through all obstacles in your educational path. It will pay off.

  4. Jocelyn says:

    You should defiantly continue to appeal and fight for your financial aid, but in the mean time have you though about maybe interning or something? I know the whole point of this is because you need money to pay for your schooling, but until you get the certification maybe trying finding a place where you can volunteer or intern. Not only will it help you network, but once you get your certification you might even be able to get hired and paid there. Plus it would be great experience regardless

  5. Good idea…I need to start looking for jobs posted as A/D counselors and even if I can’t get hired, I can at least get my foot in the door as an intern.

  6. […] I Need a Job so I want to be an Alcohol and Drug Counselor – Not a Paperback Writer. […]

Leave a Reply

