Journalism 110 – What I want to do when I “grow up.”


So, I have to do some blog posts for my journalism class, preferably discussing the job that I eventually desire…I must say I’m glad that there are some “older” adults besides me in my class.  Right now, my goal is to get a B.A. in Human Services and, ultimately, a Master in Social Work.  Somewhere before the B.A. is completed, but after I have taken enough of the “AA-T” requirements, I would like to take the required test to be an alcohol/drug counselor, that way I’ll have at least some income to help me pay for the graduate and post-graduate degrees.  Eventually, I want to somehow be involved with family survivors of suicide, which if you have read my blog before, you know is very close to my heart on a personal level.  The day after my brother’s suicide, I was connected with the With Hope, the Amber Craig Memorial Foundation, which is a non-profit focusing on teen suicide prevention through education and mental health awareness.  With Hope helped me get connected with a psychologist (who works a lot with family survivors of suicide) within 5 days for an assessment and I actually starting seeing the therapist, ironically enough on my brother’s birthday.  My therapist has been instrumental in helping me realize, among other things, that my brother wasn’t “crazy” just depressed.  

Anyway, since August 2012, I have been involved with the With Hope Foundation, and I think everyone needs to know the signs and symptoms of depression, which by itself can help to save a life.  Also, if someone talks about committing suicide, they aren’t just saying it to get attention…they are actually reaching out in one of the few ways they know now…DON’T IGNORE IT…TELL SOMEONE!!  Check out the With Hope website.  It has a lot of information, not just for teens or anyone with a teen, but for anyone who loves someone.  You may be surprised at what you learn in just five minutes on this website.  

 

http://www.WithHopeFoundation.org  

 

14 thoughts on “Journalism 110 – What I want to do when I “grow up.”

  1. Veronica says:

    I like what you have to say. I’m glad you are inspired to help others who have gone through this type of painful loss that no one really knows how to deal with. We need more educated people in this field, as the occurrences seem to be sadly multiplying. I commend you for your hard work in trying to help people with depression. Thank you!

    • Thank you Veronica…I appreciate the encouragement that I get from you, no matter what thing I’m doing at any given moment. You helped me more than you could ever know through the events of the past year, and got me to the other side that you kept insisting was out there, even when I said I didn’t quite believe you.

  2. You are proof that God can and will use ANYTHING…even the darkest tragedy to work for our good. His love is unfailing…You are brave and make me believe in miracles!

  3. jessica says:

    This blog post actually brought me to tears. Recently experiencing a whole slew of emotions, surrounding the suicide of a close family member also…it was hard to open that wound to start the day. I wish you the best of luck in starting your journey to a career that will not only fulfill you, but make a difference in other people’s lives. Great post! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Monica Scranton says:

    Horrific experience that no one should have to be subjected to, this earth is a sad place at times. I’m glad to see you turn the pain into something useful, like helping others. Who better than some who has been through it twice. I’m also glad to see you gain strength to get up and go back to school, in every single way that is good for you. I enjoying your writing, I think you are smart and a natural at expressing your feelings and I believe one of your gifts is teaching and I’m looking forward to seeing how that unfolds….God is good and as his child, you are loaded with good news, his word. Another area where you will have opportunities to witness not your strength, but your strength through Him.

  5. lisaodaffer says:

    It’s inspiring to me when someone can stand up after being through something terrible, dust herself off, and find peace in serving others. You give me hope.

  6. Dr Iffi says:

    You are a very brave person and very inspiring indeed…..life and its experiences are our biggest teachers …. they teach us what no one else can…… cant wait to see more interesting stuff from you.

  7. Athena says:

    I am so proud of you for following your dream of reaching out and helping others. I, someday would like to truly go to school and get a degree. What a blessing you are. Thank you for all you do.

    • Someone told me if you want it bad enough you will make it happen. I know at some point you are going to do just that. In the meantime, I’m so proud of you for what you are already doing my sister. Love you.

  8. Monica Scranton says:

    Very difficult and extremely personal subject , however you have calmly shared and educated us on the pain and the importance of the family/support system. The video was professional. I believe part of healing is educating families out there, how to know what to look for, and the role of friends being hung with the question of what to do with the secret. I think it will also pull in parents to understand the signs and spend more time building trust and getting help, before it’s too late. Well written, well done. Thank you.

  9. […] Journalism 110 – What I want to do when I “grow up.”. […]

Leave a Reply

