We Are Not Alone


No, this post isn’t about space aliens and whether or not they walk among here on earth, but that would be an interesting discussion if I could get enough diversity in opinions together in one room.  I think that in itself, might be a great form of therapy.  YES, my mind does tend to wander in all sort of strange directions.  Thankfully, my friends who know me really well, know my sense of humor and are still around….that says more about them, than it does me.  LOL.  

November 23, 2013 is International Survivors of Suicide Day.  There will be gatherings all over the world where people can offer each other mutual support and guidance on coping with grief.  Before my brother’s suicide, the only time I thought about the subject was if there was a story on the news or in the paper, and, most of the time, it was related to a crime of some sort, murder suicide, a mass shooting resulting in the suicide of the shooter, etc.  My response back then was probably somewhere along the lines of “They deserved it after what they did!”  I never made the connection between mental illness and suicide before my brother.  But, hindsight, always being 20/20, it is easy to see now, and that is the main reason why I have decided to do what I’m doing – going back to school with a Master in Social Work being the goal and working toward getting mental health awareness to as many people as possible.  

If you are in my area on November 23, 2013 and you have lost a loved one to suicide or if you know someone who has, please attend this meeting.  If you do not live in my area, hit the WorldWideWeb, search for Suicide Survivor Day and find a meeting near you.  It will be informative, supportive, and beneficial in many ways.  

 

Image

5 thoughts on “We Are Not Alone

  1. Bev Hursh says:

    Thanks for sharing this Char! So glad there is a place for people to gather for mutual support.

  2. I think it is fantastic that this event is happening – though unfortunate that it is needed! Thank you for sharing. I have browsed a couple of your posts and think it is really brave of you to be so open about your brother. Awareness is key in prevention.

    • Thank you for your kind words Amy. It’s nice to know my blog is being read by people other than those who know me and the story behind what’s driving me. You should check out the post “Boy Did I Get a Rude Awakening….” It discusses the fact that, sadly, it was not just my brother.

Leave a Reply

